Meet Yourself, Hair Standing on End…. in the Eye of the Tiger

Eye of the Tiger

Meeting ourselves  – if we are up to it – can be one of life’s most devastatingly exhilarating encounters.  It seems that those with the presence of mind to realize the gift of such a moment and those further buoyed with the courage to stay for the introduction without flight or panic, will remain forever changed.

It was more than a dream some four years ago as I suddenly, and very carefully awoke from my sleep, aware that the most serious Tiger I could imagine was staring at me intently, so close I could feel his breath.  Instinctively I knew this was for keeps and that I must hold and maintain my ‘kegel’ of calm engagement and strike the balance somewhere in the no man’s land between fatal fear and foolhardy aggressiveness.

The Tiger was to come back several more times.  It returned sometimes less threateningly as a younger male that had my number and was intently tracking me down, albeit with a measure of distracted playfulness that mildly offset my uneasy feelings of looming danger.  On another occasion it put it’s teeth on the skin of my neck as though to kill and devour me, yet compliantly withdrew upon my firm no.

Always there were people watching me  in wordless witness as if to join me in either the flight or the confidence of my response.  Sometimes these observers were family but more often total strangers from countries I have never visited.  The choice was always mine alone.

The one common thread in all of my ‘Tiger visits’ was that my hair stood on end.  It is this thread that unlocked the identity of my returning nighttime visitor for me this week as I read a blog about a hair raising matter and brought to mind a third hair raising encounter from my files that I had been inspired to save some years ago.

I leave you, without further comment, to find an introduction to your Self in these two gathered hair raising episodes.

§ § § §

Imagine!  – An Inspirational Piece To Inspire Greatness Within     by Leo Pantero 

July 24, 2012 | Posted by Joel Brown in Life4

http://bit.ly/QlXtb8 I found this nice little piece created by ‘Leo Pantero’. I believe this is a great method to facing and defeating your procrastinations and doubts. This right here is a nice quick read to inspire a greatness you deserve.

Don’t sleep on this, take a minute or two to soak this one in.

Imagine you walked into your room to find your Twin sitting where you were sitting, working on what you were working on.

Except.. He’s not working like you were working, nowhere near. He is NOTHING like you. In fact, the STRENGTH you feel just by being in His presence, makes you whisper to yourself, “woah”.

He has a look in his eye, an uprightness to His posture and a spiritual energy that tells you, without any words spoken that He is getting what He wants. Whatever it is. Full stop.

Your hairs stand on end like you just came across a Lion, and He’s staring right at you about to pounce. But your twin is not even looking at you. He has no awareness of your presence. He is focused.

You know at this point that you’re looking at something very strange. The likes of which, you have never seen live, in the flesh, before.

He is not even an alpha male. He is something much bigger, much stronger than that.

He is greatness.

You get a sense standing next to Him, that this is what it must have been like to stand next to Alexander the Great, Winston Churchill or Napoleon Bonaparte in their prime.

But He is not them. He is You, down to the bone. There is nothing in Him that is not in You.

You know this.  I know you do.  Deep down, we all do.  Despite this, the question always seems to remain.  Why aren’t you that Guy? 

The answer is FEAR.  The only thing separating you from that Guy is this four letter word. That’s it.  So now decide. 

Go, and be that Guy!

§ § § §

Years ago, anthropologist Adolf Jensen gave us this classic report by an Apinaye  hunter from the Ge tribe of eastern Brazil.  ( From The Biology of Transcendence: A Blueprint of the Human Spirit  by Joseph Chilton Pearce . p 203.)

I was hunting near the sources of the Botica Creek. All along the journey there I had been agitated and was constantly startled without knowing why. Suddenly I saw Him standing under the drooping branches of a big steppe tree. He was standing there erect. His club was braced against the ground beside Him, His hand He held on the hilt. He was tall and light-skinned, and His hair nearly descended to the ground behind him. His whole body was painted and on the outer side of His legs were broad red stripes. His eyes were exactly like two stars. He was very handsome. I recognized at once that it was He. Then I lost all my courage. My hair stood on end, and my knees were trembling. I put my gun aside, for I thought to myself that I should have to address Him. But I could not utter a sound because He was looking at me unwaveringly. Then I lowered my head in order to get hold of myself and stood thus for a long time. When I had grown somewhat calmer, I raised my head. He was still standing and looking at me. Then I pulled myself together and walked several steps toward Him, then I could not go any farther for my knees gave way. I again remained standing for a long time. Then I lowered my head and tried again to regain composure. When I raised my eyes again, He had already turned away and was slowly walking towards the steppes.   Then I grew very sad.     (Adolf E. Jensen, Myth and Cult Among Primitive Peoples (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1963.)

§ § § §

Leo Pantero has discovered the Lion/Panther within. The great Spirit Hunter  is in truth the shy Apinaye warrior, Himself.    Who is the awesome You?

I look forward to hearing your story.

Börje Melin

About Börje Melin

Borje Melin Canada Sweden USA Advocate, Researcher Local Fuel & Food Systems, Net Zero Energy Housing, Blockchain Encrypted Currencies, Wellness Researcher, Carpenter, Government Consultant, Writer, Social Media Developer, Hiker, Farmer, Photographer Follow me on Twitter as @BorjeMelin In 1982 working as a major industry headhunter and financial consultant I had a disturbing and transformational encounter with my immediate future. I saw the world on fire, economically and environmentally, leaving people desperate for survival. Within weeks I permanently left all that was familiar and plunged into international travel/residence and countless promising business pursuits in search of an adequate response for myself, my family, my immediate and my extended community to this troubling vision. Thirty years later, and still en route, I am finding my way in #socialmedia and self publishing to gain a leveraged voice and new like minded friends to discover and embrace practical and genuine solutions that at minimum require a radical restructuring of all inherited social institutions and reformulation for first stage economic and ecological survival then welcome of an inevitable universal prosperity and well-being. INTERESTS: National Happiness Factors, Neurocardiology, Transition of Ineffective Global Institutions, Bridging Ancestral Health Wisdom and Breakthrough Medical Technology also Advocate for its grassroots access and distribution to rebalance and popularize Healthcare, MOOC, Government/Private Industry Collaboration, Alternative Fuel Systems, Bi-Fuel Vehicles, Closed-Loop Farming, Aquaponics, Distributed Small Scale Energy Generation, Off-Grid Living, Self (e)-Publishing, New Currency and Banking Systems, Reform of Partisan Political Systems, Electricity Demand-Side Management Programs, Women Leadership, Inter-Regional Based Trade Systems and Technology Transfer, Railroad Construction, Extractive Industries Reform, Self-Propagation of All-Inclusive, No-Fee, Highly profitable Recycling Systems, Strategic International Consulate Support for Island and Other Tiny Countries, Intuitive and Heart Based Project Development
This entry was posted in Self Discovery. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Meet Yourself, Hair Standing on End…. in the Eye of the Tiger

  1. newie says:

    Perhaps it is the dropping off the pain that has accumulated upon my heart of not being, feeling
    free to access/express myself. That when i get close to even saying hello to the greatness in me
    tears fall and a great sadness of what I have missed so tremendously in this life comes out. What
    next? Perhaps the courage you spoke about, to meet up with this being I have so little knowledge of
    in this body/mind. I will ask to see more of this being and call upon my braveness to be able to have
    it. May it be so. Amen

  2. dagborje says:

    Newie, this is authentic walking-through-the door-to-Me honesty. You cannot and will not be denied the courage to find and merge with your true Self. The little distorted self we ‘remember’ in pain is only a notional imposter with no substance in reality beyond our fears that allows its spoiler ghost presence in our life. In the light of this truth it is not too late – everything is still possible for you and will always be so.

  3. lisachan says:

    so fascinating. when we were time traveling with the shamanic circle last month, people had some very similar experiences traveling to themselves to give comfort or support during past hard or lonely life experiences. and maybe we appear in the form that is needed at the moment. and with observer principle, once this happens, everything along the time line can heal… people suddenly remember the synchronicities when they return to this time.
    – great to see you writing. this is wonderful for you – and for us. blessings and love.

  4. dagborje says:

    Thanks,Lisa, for your wise and kind words. “Everything along the time line can heal” (with the observer principle). That speaks to me. The observer aspect seems so prevalent and powerful in all this.

  5. Beautiful post. You’ve reminded me of one of my favorite plays, Bengal Tiger Bagdad Zoo. Are you familiar?

    “Who is the awesome you?” You’ve given me much to ponder. 🙂

    • dagborje says:

      Thanks for your kind words. They encourage me to write.

      You can most likely find this self at the crossroads where your deepest longings and far distant memories find each other. If you allow them to merge you can never go back again without being haunted by the mediocrity and meaninglessness of your previous life.

    • dagborje says:

      No I had not heard of Bengal Tiger Bagdad Zoo until now. Reading the summary of the play I can see some common elements. Looks like Robin Williams was at his vintage self playing the Tiger.

  6. tlmccallan says:

    One of my objectives in this life is to not only evoke emotion, but to feel emotion beyond the level that most would consider superficial. I absolutely ADORE reading a piece that makes ME feel something beyond the norm, beyond the same yada yada yada we are inundated with on a daily basis. And if I’m being honest I am, at times, guilty of writing the yada yada yada. Sometimes, it’s good to remember what fuels us; whether a tiger, a weasel, or a mouse. All are great in their own ways once the physical being is stripped away and the spiritual is allowed to present itself without prejudice.
    I teach a seminar, wherein, I encourage aspiring authors to use ALL 5 senses when describing a scene. I shall add to my seminar, a sixth sense.
    Perhaps I am reading too much into this blog but, all said, I’m quite all right with that.

    • dagborje says:

      I’m with you on feeling the emotion and adoring the glimpse of our higher selves. This, of course, is the essence of the Apinaye warrior’s meltdown. The intense longing to be one with his supernatural self while hobbled with an inability to bridge this gulf within himself.

      Richard Bach, in an interview I read years ago, captures this matter so poignantly: “I think the source of our sorrow and the source of our joy are intimately entwined. Our sorrow is that we have forgotten who we are, we have forgotten we are one with that source of all life – absolutely indestructible, perfect, joyful. The source of our joy is when we remember that. So if I could say one word, in the deepest sense, without any explanation, to myself, I would say “remember.”

  7. It took laying real bricks on my knees and reflecting about all my past heartaches “I’ve seen a lot of tragedies and oppression” and releasing the bricks to free myself so the real self could begin living which is the God that resides in my heart and feels the hurts of all peoples.Often a difficult cross to bare but knowing I was born to serve and not be served has freed me to live again.I love your insight ,a blessing and a privilege to call you friend.Grace and peace,,,,Star

    • dagborje says:

      Thanks, Star, for your honest comments. Yes a lot does happen on our knees doesn’t it. There is a favourite verse of mine that says a person may fall 7 times but each time they get up b/c God holds their hand. We are never alone. I’d also say that all God’s children, including you, deserve to be served and when we serve others selflessly the whole world stands on call to serve us too.

  8. Pingback: Meet Yourself, Hair Standing on End…. in the Eye of the Tiger | ldbush21

  9. Veronica Brannon says:

    Wow! I told you before you’ve left me speechless with your tweets. I must take that back. I really like your words here. I can see the meaning of them now. Thank you sir. ~Veronica~

    • Börje Melin says:

      My Pleasure Veronica. Love your spontaneity and openness. This is a gift that will take you far including into the hearts of so many people. Do get to know and love who you are at this level. So much joy and fulfillment awaits you.

  10. Loved everything about this. I’ll be back!

Leave a Reply

